Skip to main content
imagem de dois bustos em pedra presentes no jardim dos serviços da presidência



The President of the Polytechnic of Lisbon is the institution's top governing and external representation body.

The President is the governing body of institution policy and chairs the Management Board, the Permanent Council and the Academic Council.

The President is elected by the General council, by secret ballot, under the terms set by the present statutes.

They following can be elected chairpersons of Lisbon Polytechnic:

  • Professors and investigators from IPL  or from  other institutions of higher education or research, national or foreign;
  • Figures of recognized merit and relevant professional experience.


The President's term has a duration of four years, and may be renewed once.

The President is assisted by a maximum of two Vice-Presidents.

Vice-Presidents are freely appointed by the President and may be exterior to the institution.

The President can appoint and exonerate Vice-Presidents  for projects or specified areas, always on the understanding that their respective mandates cease with the termination of the President's mandate.


President of the IPL

Elmano da Fonseca Margato



Manuel Matos
Maria João Escudeiro


Deputy-Vice Presidents

Renato Abreu | Distance Teaching
Anabela Graça | Health
Vítor Almeida | Digitization, Employability and Alumni
Fernando Melício | Internationalization and Cooperation
Rute Agostinho | Success School and Transversal Competencies
Ana Raposo | Strategic Communication
David Antunes | Arts
José Coelho | Research, Development, Innovation, Entrepreneurship and Faculty Performance Assessment